Philosothon

Promoting critical thinking, creative thinking and collaboration skills.

2022 Results

2022 Australasian Philosothon, Overall Schools:

1st North Sydney Girls High School (NSW)

2nd St Peter’s Girls’ School (SA)

3rd St Andrew’s Cathedral School (NSW)

Most Promising Philosopher Awards:

Rebecca Stephen (Year 9) NSGHS

Kavinraj Punitha Kaanthan (Year 12) Willetton SHS

Year 8:

= 1stAlex DUNCANMelbourne Girls
= 1stAlexandra SHEARERNorth Sydney
= 1stAlison FRANCISSt Peters
2ndTilly HOSt Andrews
3rdIla BAINSMeriden

Year 9:

1stRebecca STEPHENNorth Sydney
= 2ndAlix DOUGLASSt Peters
= 2ndElissa GROVESSt Stephens
= 2ndIshita GUPTAMerici
3rdSamuel MAYHEWYeronga

Year 10:

1stBelinda SHANGNorth Sydney
2ndAnjali KAILASANATHANMeriden
3rdGeorgia HALSTEADLoreto Ballarat

Year 11:

1stEloise BISLEYMelbourne Girls
= 2ndMegan KHANALNorth Sydney
= 2ndRama CHADDA-HARMERSt Andrews
3rdTrishul SIVABALANLindisfarne

Year 12:

1stElla UHLMANNNorth Sydney
2ndKavinraj PUNITHA KAANTHANWilletton
3rdJay CAHILLLindisfarne

Latest posts

More Posts

2022 AAP Australasian Philosothon

19 – 20 August 2022
Daily Schedule: Start: Perth 8:00 am / Adelaide 9:30 am / AEST 10:00 am / NZST 12:00 pm
Finish: Perth 12:00 pm / Adelaide 1:30 pm / AEST 2:00 pm / NZST 4:00 pm

The Australasian Association of Philosophy’s (AAP) Philosophy in Community Committee (PiCC) cordially invites you to the Australasian Philosothon to be held online on the 19th and 20th August 2022. As the organiser for the Australasian Philosothon this year, I am working closely with PiCC, convened by Professor Rob Wilson of the University of Western Australia, and project officer Monty Campbell. Together we can make this event a wonderful experience for your students, affording them an opportunity to engage with other outstanding students from throughout Australasia.

After our successful shift to the online format in 2020 and due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, the 2022 Australasian Philosothon will once again be held via Zoom. The move online has enabled greater access and an increase in capacity, which in turn allows for the promotion of philosophical excellence in even more schools. As there were less local Philosothons in 2021, again due to COVID-19, PiCC has expanded the number of ways that a school can qualify for the Australasian Philosothon. You will be receiving this invitation if your school qualified at a local event in 2021, or if the inclusion of your school increases the Australasian Philosothon’s overall diversity – be it socio-economic, public rather than private, or by location, be it regional or beyond Australian borders.

Each breakout room will have 8 students with a teacher from each of the participating schools facilitating the discussion. Philosophy academics and pedagogues will judge the inquiries. There will be 1st – 3rd places for the overall school winners and each of the junior (years 8-9) and senior levels (years 10-12). Each participating school will send a team consisting of two junior students and three senior students. One reserve can also be chosen. Junior students can compete up, however senior students cannot compete down.

Dr. Kaz Bland
Associate Lecturer, UWA
Project Manager, AAPP

Tracy Bowell: Getting started in philosophy

Professor Tracy Bowell in conversation with Professor Rob Wilson

Andrew Rogers in conversation with Professor Rob Wilson

What is philosophy good for and living a philosophical life.

Professor Deb Brown in conversation with Rob Wilson as part of the 2021 AAP Philosothon.